Executive Summary/Board of Directors

Executive Summary

The Tanglefoot Trail is governed by the Board of Directors of the GM&O Rails to Trails Recreational District of North Mississippi.

The Board is made up of one representative from each of the three counties – Union, Pontotoc and Chickasaw in addition to one representative from each of the municipalities – New Albany, Ecru, Pontotoc, Algoma, New Houlka and Houston as provided for through state legislation in Section 55-25-7 of the Mississippi Code of 1972, as annotated.

Funding for support and maintenance is provided from the equivalent of not less than ¼ mill tax upon all taxable property in each county and municipality as referenced in the same aforementioned code. Additional funding is provided from grants; corporate, business, and organizational sponsorships; and individual contributions.

The Board of Directors is empowered by the same legislation to establish rules and regulations for the use of the recreational trail as well as the power to develop, maintain and support the recreational facility for hikers, bikers, skaters, horsemen and others along the railroad rights-of-way acquired for that purpose.

Three Rivers Planning and Development District in Pontotoc, Mississippi, serves as the District’s administrative and fiscal agent. The Board meets at the Three Rivers Planning & Development District offices in Pontotoc, MS on the second (2nd) Friday of each month at 8:00 a.m.


Ray Collins, Chairman
Union County

Joyce East, Vice Chairman
City of Houston

Chris Hutchinson, Secretary
Pontotoc County

Board Members

Jay Blissard
Town of Algoma

Billye Jean Stroud
City of New Albany

David Huffman
Town of New Houlka

Bob McGee
City of Pontotoc

Sondra Waldrop
Town of Ecru

Gene Childs
Chickasaw County

Past Board Members

Zack Stewart, Union County; Bill Rutledge, Pontotoc; Jo Higginbotham, New Houlka; Sue Barlow, Algoma; Lynn Moody, Ecru; Don Locke, Houston; Teresa Montgomery, Algoma; Betsey Hamilton, City of New Albany; Janie Tutor, Town of New Houlka; Loal Orsborn, Ecru; Sean Johnson, New Albany; Lee Nabors, Houston; Jimmy Whitehead, Ecru; Jon David Naugher, Pontotoc; Jimmy Kelly, New Houlka; Margaret Futral, Houston; Tom Todd, Ecru